WEBINAR: Addressing Court Workplace Mental Health and Well-being in Tense Times

On June 25, 2020, the National Association for Presiding Judges and Court Executive Officers presented a webinar about the anxiety and stress in returning to the workplace in the midst of COVID-19 and budget challenges loom large in the minds of judges and court staff. Added to this dynamic is the national focus on racism and its rightful demands on the justice community, including trial courts. How can court leaders address these challenges and promote a mentally healthy workplace and environment? Trial courts need constructive, empathetic, and effective leaders.

This complementary 90-minute webinar, originally presented on June 25, 2020, identifies and illustrates leadership tips and resources to help court leaders better support judge and employee mental health and well-being as courts cautiously resume full operations.

Former Congressman Patrick J. Kennedy (D-RI), Founder of the Kennedy Forum and Co-Founder of One Mind at Work, is joined by Garen Staglin, Founder of One Mind and Co-Founder of One Mind at Work, to discuss why mental health in the workplace is important, share insights on what court leaders can do to address this issue, and provide valuable resources for webinar participants to access. A moderated discussion follows with court leaders from Massachusetts and Iowa on the practical challenges, approaches and solutions they have devised. Time was allotted
for audience questions.


Hon. Lawrence K. Marks, Chief Administrative Judge, New York State Unified Court System; Co-Chair, National Judicial Task Force to Examine the State Courts’ Response to Mental Illness; Member, Conference of State Court Administrators


  • Former U.S. Rep. Patrick J. Kennedy, Founder of The Kennedy Forum
  • Garen Staglin, Co-Founder, One Mind at Work


  • Massachusetts Trial Court
    • Hon. Paula M. Carey, Chief Justice
    • Jonathan S. Williams, Court Administrator
  • Iowa Fifth Judicial District (Greater Des Moines)
    • Hon. Michael D. Huppert, Chief Judge
    • Christopher T. Patterson, District Administrator